Clurman Award

What is the Richard M. Clurman Award?

The Clurman Award honors superb on-the-job mentors who improve journalism by exemplifying excellence in nurturing, critiquing and inspiring young journalists. Named after the chief of correspondents of the Time-Life Service and architect of the Livingston Awards, the Clurman Award is presented at the Livingston Awards luncheon in June. Past recipients include Tom Brokaw, Judy Woodruff and Paul Steiger.


Tom Brokaw
Tom Brokaw, 2015 Clurman Award recipient, describes the best form of mentoring as a two-way exchange. Remembering the 2:30 meetings at NBC News, he said, “Others would push back and between us we would find what we thought was the important part of the news of the day.”


Accepting Nominations

Have you had an outstanding mentor in your career? To nominate an exceptional on-the-job mentor complete the nomination form.

Deadline was February 1, 2017.


The Richard M. Clurman Legacy

Richard M. Clurman
Richard M. Clurman

Behind everyone who achieves something very important, very early, is an older someone who critiques, applauds, knows the ropes and maybe pulls a string. Richard M. Clurman was such a man, whose career at Time included the posts of chief of correspondents and head of the Time-Life News Service. Clurman oversaw a staff of 105 reporters, including those stationed in 34 cities abroad.

Clurman helped Mollie Parnis Livingston establish the Livingston Awards and was a founding member of the Foundation’s board. When he died in May 1996, the Board and its panel of judges quickly decided to memorialize him with a new prize. Equally easily, they decided that he should be remembered as a superb, on-the-job mentor.